Born Smiling

“If you smile at me I will understand, cause that is something everybody everywhere does in the same language” – Crosby, Stills, and Nash; Jefferson Airplane, Wooden Ships

 

Born smiling.  That’s what my mother says.  I was born smiling.    One of my uncles even nicknamed me “Smiley.”

Shortly after I was born, my mother and father stood at the nursery window, gazing lovingly at me.   My mother said, “She’s prettier than the others.”

“Excuse me!” Another mother exclaimed.  “I think my baby is beautiful.”

My mother laughed.  “I meant she’s prettier than my other children when they were newborn.”

After my mother had dressed me in my cute pink going home dress, the nurses paraded me up and down the maternity ward, because, according to my mother, I was a “beautiful baby.”   And I smiled.

I told my friend Susan Brown that story and she wrote this poem for my birthday:

Born Smiling!

Paltry task, believing—

A serving nature

On a darkened planet.

A soft star, glowing

Shyly, truly a Sun.

Beauty, serving,

Under a veil.

Awakening wonders!

Me?  All this time?

Personality croaking,

Shattering the looking glass.

Full Sun unfolding!

Smiling,

Remembering

First Birth.

Not sure about the “croaking” part, other than it having to do with a vibrating sound, but I appreciate and cherish the poem.  Perhaps I was remembering a past life, my first on this planet.  It must have been a good one!

I still smile quite a bit.  I smile when I’m happy and when I’m nervous.  I try to smile even when I feel like crying.   A smile can stop a tear right in its track.   If you force yourself to smile, or laugh even, you can change a sour mood into a sweet one within seconds.  I used to sit at the dinner table when I was a child and say, “I feel like laughing.”  Then I would force myself to laugh.  Within moments, I was guffawing for real and had my entire family clutching their sides and laughing with me.

I smile at strangers if I should catch their eyes, even though I’ve been warned not to when in a big city or foreign country.  I do it anyway.  They don’t always smile back, but that’s okay.  That’s their prerogative, only they don’t know what they’re missing.  Smiling is good for you.  People should pass it along, pay it forward.

I’m not necessarily happier than most people, but I do enjoy life.  I’m determined to enjoy my life; everyone should be.  Wherever I go, I plan on having a good time.  Smiling takes the edge off of life.   So try smiling more often.  Try to make it a habit.  It’s good for your soul.   And it’s better than frowning.  I entered the world that way and I plan to exit with the same expression.

13 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

13 responses to “Born Smiling

  1. Rob

    I tend to follow the European model: smile only when necessary, lest people think you false. Plus, I had braces for a long time, and I think I forgot how to do it.

  2. I was born laughing, so we came from the same planet. I’ve been told I even laugh in my sleep. Supposedly, we’ll live longer for these two habits, but we’ll also have more mouth wrinkles, so there you go. 🙂

  3. Rebel,
    This just made me smile. Love your your gentle, breezy style and the beauty of your smile. Thanks for lifting me up.

  4. “I’m determined to enjoy my life; everyone should be.”
    I applaud that sentiment!

    A to Z Challenge April 2012
    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

  5. Rob

    Hey, I thought you said you never received any comments …

  6. Oh how I remember the laughing at the dinner table. That and liver disguised as steak. How you held that in without laughing must have been tremendously painful.

    • I like liver and onions smothered in gravy. Not sure if I liked it way back when. When I didn’t like something I sometimes let it drool out the side of my mouth just for kicks. Anything for a laugh. Those were the days.

Leave a Reply

