New Year’s Resolution

Over the Christmas holidays, my eldest daughter Miranda looked at my blog to help me figure out how to work some of the many features.  I had heard the term “widget” before but had no clue to what in the hell it was.  The thesaurus lists it as a thingamajig, thingamabob, doohickey, or doodad.   But now I know it’s computer terminology for a special tool to add components to a site.

I wanted to create a list of blogs I follow on the right hand side of my blog.  I’ve seen it done on other blogs.  Miranda doesn’t use Word Press; she had to learn along with me.  Thankfully, she knows a bit more about technology and taught me a few things.  We never could figure out how to create a widget for Blogs I Follow.   I’ll have to talk with other Word Press users to see if they know how.  I did create a section where I can list books I highly recommend (one of my New Year’s Resolutions).

So now I know a little bit more about the world of blogs.  For Christmas, Santa gave me a Kindle and a Kodak printer/scanner (I guess I’ve been a good girl this year).   I’m trying to figure out how to work them.  I’ve been thrust into the techno world.   I will eventually be proficient, but definitely never a pro.  I’m a writer.  That’s what I really want to perfect.  After this post, my main New Year’s Resolution is to focus on my writing (but then I have to seeing how school is starting back up).

Yes, a new semester is around the corner.  I’ll be back in New Hampshire for a week at the Mountain View Grand Resort where residency takes place during winter sessions (better than any classroom).  I look forward to the workshops and the fellowship with my Creative Writing classmates. I look forward to meeting my new mentor, too.  Last semester, my mentor was Jacquelyn Mitchard, best-selling author of The Deep End of the Ocean and the sequel  No Time to Wave Goodbye.  Since students can only have the same mentor twice, I’m going to request Jacquelyn for my last semester, so she will have seen my work from beginning to end (cross your fingers).  She is a fabulous teacher.  Anyone can see for his or her self what a great writer she is by reading her work.

If you’re thinking of working on an MFA in Creative Writing, SNHU is an excellent way to go.  But don’t just take my word.  Ask my fellow classmates/authors and you’ll see.

Happy New Year!  Happy Blogging!  Happy Writing!  Happy Brain Storming!

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

